^Back To Top



New Zealand Government




New Zealand government has three different branches:


Power is divided between these branches thus preventing any single branch from acting against the basic constitutional principles of the country. Although each branch has a different role, they are not totally separate from each other.

The Legislature (Parliament)

The Legislature (Parliament)

A list of Members of Parliament
New Zealand Parliamentary Home page
The Office of the Clerk

The Executive

The Executive (the branch of government which performs tasks)

The Cabinet The Cabinet

New Zealand Cabinet Ministers being Ministers of the Crown are appointed by the Governor-General on the advice of the Prime Minister and must be Members of Parliament.


Collectively they form the executive arm of government whose principal decision-making body is Cabinet which is chaired by the Prime Minister.


All major decisions are taken through the Cabinet process and Cabinet meetings are confidential.


Ministers have specific areas of responsibility called "portfolios" and may be assisted in these by Deputy or Associate Ministers or Parliamentary Under-Secretaries.


All Ministers are members of the Executive Council which is the highest formal instrument of government and is the institution through which the government as a whole advises the Governor-General, normally by recommendations to make Orders in Council.


Apart from Acts of Parliament, Orders in Council are the main method of implementing government decisions requiring legal force.

The Governor General

The Governor General has an informative site which contains his speeches. The site contains details on the role and function of the office, biographies of past and present Governors General, the engagement book and a search feature.

The Judiciary (Judges)

The Courts


If you are not our clients call the experts at Ross Holmes Lawyers for a

free 30 minute appointment

Business Law


Learn More

Property Law


Learn More



Learn More

Your Law


Learn More